Carnegie Mellon Selects Ninth President

Feb 05, 2013

Image associated with the Carnegie Mellon Selects Ninth President news item

Carnegie Mellon University has selected Dr. Subra Suresh as its new president, succeeding Dr. Jared L. Cohon, who led the university to unprecedented growth during his 16-year tenure. Dr. Cohon will step down June 30, 2013.

Dr. Subra Suresh will assume office on July 1. "I am truly honored to have the opportunity to lead Carnegie Mellon University as its ninth president," Dr. Suresh said.

"The extraordinary ability of the CMU faculty and students in bringing together cutting-edge research and education across multiple disciplines positions CMU uniquely to address national and global challenges. I look forward to working with the CMU community to further our global impact."

Dr. Suresh is the director of the National Science Foundation (NSF), a $7-billion independent government science agency charged with advancing all fields of fundamental science, engineering research and education. Dr. Suresh was nominated for the NSF in 2010 by President Barack Obama and unanimously confirmed by the U.S. Senate.

Continue Reading at >>


Interested in supporting Heinz College students and initiatives like those featured in this story? Click here for more information.