star twitter facebook envelope linkedin youtube alert-red alert home left-quote chevron hamburger minus plus search triangle x

A Year of Awards and Accomplishments

By Michael Cunningham

2016 was a banner year for the faculty, students, and alumni of Heinz College. Several members of the Heinz College community were recognized for their efforts to utilize data to make a positive impact and develop solutions to some of society's greatest challenges.

CMU's Heinz College Named Top Analytics Program by INFORMS

On April 10, 2016, the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS), announced that Heinz College had been awarded the prestigious UPS George D. Smith Prize, identifying Heinz College as the top academic institution for analytics and operations research. INFORMS® formally presented the prize to Heinz College during a September 27 ceremony at Hamburg Hall's Teresa Heinz Rotunda.

Read the full article

Martin Gaynor Elected to National Academy of Medicine

Martin Gaynor, the E.J. Barone Professor of Economics and Public Policy at Heinz College and former director of the Bureau of Economics at the Federal Trade Commission, was elected to the National Academy of Medicine in October. National Academy membership is among the highest professional distinctions awarded to scientists, social scientists, engineers, and medical and health professionals, and honors those who have made outstanding contributions in their fields.

Read the full article

Carnegie Mellon University wins 2016 National Cyber Analyst Challenge

A team of Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) graduate students won the 2016 National Cyber Analyst Challenge (NCAC), a three-month competition developed to fill the ever-growing need for cyber analysts. The Carnegie Mellon team consisted of four Heinz College Master of Science in Information Security Policy and Management (MSISPM) students – Jennifer Urgilez, Sara Mitchell, Krishna Chirumamilla, and Daniel Widya Suryanata –and one Information Networking Institute (INI) Master of Science in Information Security (MSIS) student, Jennifer Burns. After advancing to the NCAC final round on October 27-28, Carnegie Mellon’s team had six hours to analyze 80GB of data and find out what happened in a real-world, cybersecurity-breach scenario.

Read the full article

Philipp Burckhardt Named Finalist for AMIA 2016 Student Paper Competition

Philipp Burckhardt, a third-year Heinz College Ph.D. student, was selected as a finalist for the American Medical Informatics Association's (AMIA®) 2016 Student Paper Competition. Philipp's paper, entitled "Multi-trajectory Models of Chronic Kidney Disease Progression," was co-advised by Heinz College faculty members Daniel Nagin and Rema Padman.

Read the full article

Sean Bowie Elected to Arizona State Senate

Sean Bowie (MSPPM '13) was elected as an Arizona state senator for Legislative District 18. Bowie defeated Tempe Republican Frank Schmuck for the vacant seat.

Read the full article

Dr. Todd Wolynn Named EY Entrepreneur of the Year

Dr. Todd Wolynn (MMM '08) was named the 2016 EY Entrepreneur of the Year® Health Care Award winner in Western Pennsylvania and West Virginia for his innovative care and service work as Chief Executive Officer of Kids Plus Pediatrics.

Read the full article

Heinz College Students Take Top Honors at the 2016 Unleashed: Open Data Competition

Two teams representing Carnegie Mellon University took home top prizes at South Australia's 2016 Unleashed: Open Data Competition. The CMU team "Splash" won one of the two Premier’s Award and the Australian Computer Society Development Prize 2016. The "Splash" team members were Brenda Kamangara (MSPPM), Guillermo Garcia Tranquilino (MSIT), Hanwei Shao (MSIT), and Jane Huang (MSIT). The CMU team "Walking Hackers" won the Supporting SA Economy 2016 Prize for their “Smarti-Fi” project. The "Walking Hackers" team members were Minseok Song (MSIT) and Saurabh Tripathi (MSIT).

Daniel Fonner Receives Fulbright Award to Study in the U.K.

Daniel Fonner (MAM '16) received a Fulbright-University of Warwick Award to study access to and availability of creative arts therapies for U.K military personnel suffering from mental illnesses.

Read the full article

Alfred Blumstein Receives DLC Lifetime Achievement Award

Alfred Blumstein, J. Erik Jonsson University Professor of Urban Systems and Operations Research, Emeritus, received the American Society of Criminology's Lifetime Achievement Award for its Division of Developmental and Life-Course Criminology (DLC). The award recognizes an individual who has a record of sustained and outstanding contributions to scholarly knowledge on developmental and life-course criminology. The DLC presented Professor Blumstein with the award during a ceremony at its annual meeting in New Orelans on November 17.

Read the full article

Jim Dye Named One of 2017's Premier Technology Leaders

Jim Dye (MSIT '14), Director of Global IT Infrastructure at Pittsburgh Glass Works, was named one of 2017's Premier 100 Technology Leaders by Computerworld. Jim will be recognized for the honor at the AGENDA17 Conference.

Read the full article

Uttara Ananthakrishnan Receives Best Student Paper Honor at CIST 2016

Uttara Ananthakrishnan, a fourth-year Ph.D. student, received the Best Student Paper - Runner Up award at the 21st Conference on Information Systems and Technology (CIST). Uttara's paper, titled "When Streams Come True: Estimating the Impact of Free Streaming Availability on EST Sales," empirically analyzes whether free streaming on a major television network's online platform cannibalizes the sales on paid channels, and was advised by Heinz College faculty members Rahul Telang and Michael D. Smith.